De Ideale Woning

A social housing organisation
with a broad outlook on social housing

A modern social housing organisation has every interest in optimizing its communication with residents and having residents participate in the functioning of the organisation and the neighbourhood. Partnering with Genscom, De Ideale Woning is now able to put its communication plans and ideas into practice.

A collaboration with numerous positive effects:
1. Residents who feel involved tend to assume more responsibility and take better care of their (immediate) surroundings.
2. The organisation gets a better feel for residents’ needs and requirements.
3. The two parties invigorate each other and the neighbourhood. The atmosphere is positive, there is mutual respect and agreements (e.g. paying the rent, care for the buildings, etc.) are better respected.

The organisation invests in communication with the neighbourhood and residential participation. The residents invest time in themselves, their fellow-residents and their relationship with society. SHO De Ideale Woning manages about 5,300 (rental) housing units in Antwerp and the surrounding municipalities.

Moreover, social housing organisations are also encouraged by the review committee to establish proper communication lines with their residents.

But what does good communication actually mean?

Connecting with various social housing organisations, Genscom tried to figure out what good communication means to them. Two concepts turned out to be crucial: proximity and commitment.

Proximity: in order for residents to actually read the organisation’s magazine, it should crucially contain information about the neighbourhood they live in. Which is why we decided not to make one magazine, but several, broken down by municipality. This way, everybody gets updates on their town and neighbourhood on top of the organisation’s more general news.

Commitment: in its first issue, De Ideale Woning announced it was looking for people who would like to receive training as a reporter. The appeal proved successful, with more than 15 people registering for this course, organised in collaboration with Vorming Plus. These reporters will take to the streets soon and chronicle the neighbourhood news in the residents’ paper themselves.

A street paper for special occasions

A street BBQ, a neighbourhood party, a flea market. The neighbourhood is so full of life, the SHO intends to lend its full support with “street level” publications.

Many editors, one monitor

Many editors are contributing to the local editions already. The organisation prepares its own texts or complements these local editions. Yet the SHO also maintains control by monitoring all the texts and layout before giving final approval. This enables the communication style and strategy to retain its own, proper identity throughout each publication.

A library with great articles

Several social housing organisations have already found the way to Genscom. This has prompted Genscom to maintain a library of great articles on social housing. There’s no need to keep reinventing the wheel when other organisations have already written suitable texts on certain subjects.

An image bank with icons and pictures

In addition to writing texts, the search for suitable pictures and icons can also prove time-consuming for the SHO’s. Genscom developed an image bank containing pictures and icons relevant to popular issues. This helps the organisations to quickly compile a publication which is relevant to its readers and guaranteed to increase involvement.

Share This

De Ideale Woning

Une société de logements sociaux
avec une vision large du logement social

Une société de logements sociaux moderne a tout intérêt à tirer le meilleur parti de la communication avec ses locataires et d’inciter les locataires à participer au fonctionnement de la société de logement. Grâce à un partenariat avec Genscom, De Ideale Woning a pu réaliser sa stratégie de communication et donc concrétiser ses idées.

Une collaboration avec de nombreux effets positifs:
1. Les locataires, qui se sentent concernés, sont disposés à prendre plus de responsabilités et de prendre soin de leur environnement (immédiat).
2. La société a une meilleure connaissance des besoins des locataires.
3. Les deux parties se rapprochent l’une de l’autre. Il y a une meilleure ambiance et un plus grand respect des accords mutuels (par exemple: payer le loyer, prendre soin des bâtiments, etc.).

La société a investi dans la communication avec le voisinage et dans l’implication des locataires. Les locataires investissent du temps pour eux-mêmes, avec les colocataires et dans leurs relations avec la société. Au total, SHM De Ideale Woning gère environ 5300 unités (location) de logement à Anvers et dans les environs.

Par ailleurs, les sociétés de logements sociaux sont également encouragées par la commission d'inspection sociale à améliorer leur communication avec les locataires.

Mais qu'est-ce qu’une bonne communication?

Genscom a rencontré différentes sociétés de logement afin de définir ce qu’est une bonne communication pour elles. Deux concepts sont essentiels: la proximité et l'engagement.

Proximité: pour que les locataires prennent en main le journal de la société, il est important que le journal comporte des informations sur le quartier dans lequel ils vivent. Par conséquent, nous avons décidé de ne pas réaliser qu’un seul journal mais plusieurs ventilés par commune. Donc, tout le monde reçoit des nouvelles de la société, mais aussi de la ville et du quartier.

Engagement: De Ideale Woning a inséré dans le premier numéro une annonce pour proposer aux lecteurs une formation pour devenir journaliste. Avec succès! Plus de 15 personnes se sont inscrites à ce cours en collaboration avec Vorming Plus. Ces journalistes vont bientôt se promener en rue pour recueillir les nouvelles du quartier afin de les publier dans les journaux des locataires.

Un journal pour des occasions spéciales

Un barbecue de rue, une fête de quartier, un marché aux puces. Le quartier est animé et la société veut soutenir ces événements. Et c’est pour cette raison qu’elle réalise des publications à l’échelle de rue.

De nombreuses rédactions mais un seul contrôle

Les rédacteurs des éditions locales sont déjà nombreux. La société de logement tient les articles prêts pour être utilisés ou remplit les journaux locaux avec. Pourtant, ils conservent également le contrôle. Tous les textes et les mises en pages sont approuvés par la société de logement. Ils ont toujours le dernier mot. Ainsi, le style de communication et la stratégie sont maintenus dans toutes les publications.

Une bibliothèque avec les meilleurs articles

Plusieurs sociétés de logements sociaux ont déjà trouvé le chemin de Genscom. Genscom dispose également d'une base de données avec les meilleurs textes toutes sociétés de logement confondues. Chaque société peut utiliser les textes de la base de données.

Une galerie d'images avec des icônes et des photos

En plus des textes, on trouve aussi des images et des icônes, ce qui représente un gain de temps pour les sociétés de logement. Genscom a développé une base de données d'image avec des photos et des icônes qui correspondent à des sujets courants. De cette façon, nous aidons les entreprises à publier rapidement leur journal et à y insérer des articles intéressants pour les lecteurs.

Share This