Samana

Samana: How do you introduce a new name?

Samana is an organisation with over 25,000 volunteers committing themselves to provide chronically ill and dependent persons and their caregivers with the necessary strength to build a quality life. Thanks to the enthusiasm and energy of so many people, they manage to make a real difference. And they do so every day. Ziekenzorg CM, as they were previously called, started looking for a new name, a name which carries a positive connotation, a name that conveys solidarity and puts the chronically ill, the caregivers, volunteers and the association’s own professional staff on the same level. Out of more than 1,500 submissions, the word "together" – “samen” in Dutch – emerged as the most important core value by far. That word also provides the basis for this new name. Samana could indeed be construed as a contraction of the Dutch word “samen” and “mana”, where mana means “power”. So the new name would actually mean: Strong Together!

Genscom constructed a platform for the local groups (cores) allowing them to produce their own core newspaper, which would not only contain neighbourhood testimonials and the local programme, but would also provide a stage for local staff to make their own contributions.



The Samana neighbourhood paper: making a newspaper together

Loyal to the message conveyed by its new name, the national secretariat also wanted to publish a newspaper in conjunction WITH the local cores. Genscom developed an all-in proposal for Samana. These are the communication objectives we formulated:

1. A broad dissemination of the new name via the cores

1163 cores in Flanders and Brussels should enable Samana to quickly build a positive image and awareness, using her new name. This is only possible if the cores help to disseminate the name as well. Genscom proposed to make a newspaper which would incorporate every aspect of the new name and corporate identity into the publication. In terms of contents, the publication uses a three-pronged approach:
1. Local cores enter their annual programmes, advertise their operation and provide useful contact addresses
2. The superstructure provides at least one editorial page, explaining the new name: storytelling.
3. The superstructure provides additional promotional materials, in this case a sticker to help disseminate the name further. The superstructure motivates the local cores to tackle their external communication and proposes incentives to achieve this: the price for the publication is kept low and the cores are given free stickers if they publish a newspaper.



2. The cores are integral to the new Samana

For some people, the new name probably also signals a departure from the old organisation. It is, however, far more important to motivate the (old and new) people for the new story. The best chance for success is when the story you are trying to tell, is told and shared by as many people as possible.

Consequently, local input should receive the attention it deserves. Let the volunteers fill in their own part of the publication. Gently put them on their way with some templates or prime examples, yet allow them the space to present their core in all its aspects.

Also provide some space to introduce the new name. Where does the name come from? Why take on a new name? What does it mean and stand for? Where can you find more information? ... It is important that the superstructure establishes a direct line to its members, and that you can get your story across in a consistent manner. These pages are made up first, becoming a fixed part of the newspaper and allowing the campaign’s core message to be distributed everywhere.

3. Future-proofing the local publications

Announcing the new name is thé perfect opportunity to help the cores with their future communication with their members and third parties. Once they have mastered the art of publishing, they will be able to communicate their programmes to the members via this channel every year. We will elaborate this ultimate marketing objective in 2017.

Quality control and fast delivery: two key elements for a good campaign

However great our confidence in the (qualities of the) volunteers, it wouldn’t hurt if the superstructure had access to each publication in order to pass on possible remarks. Correcting a typo, adjusting the position of a picture… a fresh pair of eyes can do wonders sometimes. Genscom has incorporated such a monitoring mechanism via an automated flow. For every publication, a volunteer requests a “ready for press” from a person in charge at Samana. This also allows for a joint decision on the print-run.

This process should not impact the speed of delivery. Genscom is committed to finishing and delivering each order to the cores within five working days. This way, they get to see the results of their efforts soon after and can quickly start distributing the newspapers.


A SUCCESSFUL APPROACH!

The campaign has proved a resounding success. Activity on the Samana platform is at an unprecedented high. In a short time one third of the cores registered on the site, and were producing their own publication in next to no time. From September 2017 onwards, their newspapers land on the doormats of more than 300,000 people. This way, the new name will become a household name very quickly, with the additional benefit of allowing Samana to present its operations to the outside world!

Share This

Samana

Samana: Comment introduire un nouveau nom?

Samana est une association dans laquelle plus de 25.000 volontaires s'engagent pour donner une vie de qualité aux malades chroniques, aux personnes dépendantes et pour fournir la force nécessaire à leurs soignants. Et grâce à l'enthousiasme et l'énergie de tant de gens, ils font la différence chaque jour. L'ancienne mutualité “Ziekenzorg CM” cherchait un nouveau nom, un nom avec un ton positif, un nom qui exprime la solidarité et qui relie les personnes souffrant de maladies chroniques, les soignants, les bénévoles et les professionnels de l'association. Parmi les plus de 1500 réactions, la notion "ensemble" est ressortie de loin comme la valeur la plus importante. Ce mot constitue également la base de ce nouveau nom. Samana est en effet aussi la contraction de "samen" (ensemble) et de "mana", qui signifie "puissance - force". Donc, ce nouveau nom veut effectivement dire "Ensemble Fort" ou plus facile: "Ensemble, plus forts!"

Genscom a construit pour les sections locales une plate-forme où elles pouvaient concevoir leur propre journal, avec des témoignages du voisinage, le programme local et un journal avec aussi les membres du conseil d'administration de la section.



Le journal local Samana: réalisons ensemble un journal

Fidèle au message du nouveau nom, le Secrétariat National a également souhaité créer un journal avec les groupes locaux. Genscom a dès lors travaillé sur une proposition complète. Nous avons communiqué les objectifs de l'entreprise comme suit:

1. La large diffusion du nouveau nom par les sections locales

1163 centres en Flandre et à Bruxelles devaient veiller à rapidement construire une bonne image et un solide réputation à Samana. Cela n’était possible que si les sections propagent le nouveau nom. Genscom a proposé de créer un journal dans lequel le nouveau nom et l'identité d'entreprise étaient pleinement implémentés dans la publication. Le contenu publié était basé sur trois piliers:
1. Les sections locales donnent leur programme annuel, expliquent leur fonctionnement et fournissent des adresses de contact
2. La structure nationale prévoit au moins une page d'explications sur le nouveau nom: l’historique.
3. La structure nationale fournit du matériel promotionnel supplémentaire, dans ce cas, un autocollant pour diffuser le nouveau nom: narration. La structure nationale motive les noyaux locaux à travailler sur leurs communications externes. Pour cela, elle fournit un certain nombre de mesures incitatives. Elle maintient un prix faible pour la publication et les sections peuvent obtenir des autocollants gratuits si elles créent des journaux.

2. Les sections locales font partie de la nouvelle Samana

Pour certains, ce nouveau nom signifie aussi un adieu à l’organisation. Mais il est très important d’entraîner le plus rapidement possible (nouvelles et anciennes) personnes vers une nouvelle histoire. La meilleure chance de succès est de faire partager l'histoire autant que possible.

Il est donc très important de veiller à l’implication locale. Que les volontaires eux-mêmes remplissent leur part de la publication. Lancez-les avec quelques bons exemples ou avec des modèles, mais leur donner l'espace pour présenter leur section sous tous ses aspects.

Prévoir également de la place pour introduire le nouveau nom. D'où vient le nom? Pourquoi un nouveau nom? Quelle est sa signification? Où trouver plus d'informations? ... Il est important que vous, en tant que superstructure, vous touchiez donc directement les membres, et que vous puissiez toujours raconter votre histoire. Ces pages sont d’abord réalisées et prévues comme élément fixe dans le journal de modèle. Publié comme un élément figé dans le journal de sorte que le message central de la campagne est diffusé en permanence et partout.

3. Renforcer les publications locales dans l'avenir

L'annonce du nouveau nom est une occasion d'aider également les sections locales à l'avenir pour leur communication avec les membres et les tiers. Maintenant, qu’elles maîtrisent la création d’une publication, elles peuvent communiquer leur programme annuel de cette manière aux membres. Ce dernier objectif marketing, nous allons continuer à le développer en 2017.

Qualité et livraison rapide:
deux éléments clés pour une bonne campagne

Bien que nous ayons pleinement confiance dans (la qualité des) les bénévoles, néanmoins, il est bon que la superstructure puisse contrôler chaque publication et puisse faire des remarques si besoin. Une faute de frappe, améliorer une position d'image ... une deuxième lecture est toujours conseillée. Genscom a prévu un contrôle automatisé. Pour chaque journal un responsable de Samana est désigné pour donner “le bon à tirer” avant de lancer l’impression. De même, la quantité à imprimer sera déterminée en concertation.

Cela ne doit d’ailleurs pas entraîner des retards. Genscom s’est engagé à ce que chaque commande soit livrée dans les 5 jours ouvrables aux sections locales. Ainsi les sections voient rapidement les résultats de leurs efforts et peuvent rapidement distribuer les journaux.


UNE APPROCHE RÉUSSIE!

La campagne est très réussie. L'activité sur la plateforme Samana est très élevée. Dans un laps de temps très court,un tiers des sections ont fait leur propre publication. A partir de septembre 2017, ces journaux seront livrés dans les boîtes aux lettres de plus de 300.000 personnes. Le nouveau nom sera donc très rapidement communiqué et Samana aura présenté sa nouvelle appellation plus que jamais au monde extérieur!

Share This